GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held on 16th May 2012

Present:

Councillor Tony Owen (Chairman)
Councillor Russell Mellor (Vice-Chairman)
Councillors Nicholas Bennett JP, John Canvin,
John Getgood, Julian Grainger, Will Harmer,
Gordon Norrie, Ian Payne, Charles Rideout CVO QPM,
Diane Smith, Tim Stevens JP and Pauline Tunnicliffe

1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Roger Charsley and Roxhannah Fawthrop.

2 PROPORTIONALITY

RESOLVED that seats on the Sub-Committees of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee be allocated to political groups as follows:

Sub Committee	Size of Sub- Committee	Allocation		
		Conservative	Lib/Dem	Labour
Audit	7	6	1	0
Pensions Investment	7	7	0	0
Local Joint Committee	9	9	0	0
Industrial Relations	7	7	0	0
Rights of Way	7	7	0	0

3 APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that the following Sub-Committees be appointed for the ensuing Municipal Year, with membership as indicated:-

(i) AUDIT SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors
1	ADAMS
2	BENNETT (N)
3	BENNETT (R)
4	HARMER W
5	FAWTHROP (S)

6	REDDIN
7	WELLS

(ii) PENSIONS INVESTMENT SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors
1	GRAINGER
2	INCE
3	LYNCH
4	MELLOR
5	REDDIN
6	SCOATES
7	WELLS

(iii) LOCAL JOINT COMMITTEE (To include Leader or named deputy, Chairman of the Executive and Resources PDS Committee or named deputy and Chairman of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee or named deputy.)

	Councillors
1	BENNETT N
2	BOSSHARD
3	CARR
4	HUNTINGTON-
	THRESHER (W)
5	MELLOR
6	OWEN
7	SMITH (D)
8	
9	

(iv) INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS SUB-COMMITTEE (To include Leader, Deputy Leader, Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee.)

	Councillors
1	BENNETT (N)
2	BOSSHARD
3	CARR
4	MELLOR
5	OWEN
6	SMITH (C)
7	TICKNER

(v) RIGHTS OF WAY SUB-COMMITTEE

	Councillors
1	AULD
2	S FAWTHROP

3	GRAINGER
4	NORRIE
5	SCOATES
6	STRANGER
7	WELLS

4 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN

RESOLVED that the following Councillors be appointed as Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of the Sub-Committees of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee for the 2008/9 Municipal Year. (The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the other Sub-Committees and the Local Joint Committee will be appointed at their first meetings).

(a) Audit Sub-Committee

Councillor Neil Reddin (Chairman)
Councillor Simon Fawthrop (Vice Chairman)

(b) Pensions Investment Sub Committee

Councillor Paul Lynch (Chairman) Councillor Julian Grainger (Vice Chairman)

5. APPOINTMENT OF APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE

RESOLVED that:

- (1) all Members of the Council, except Executive Members, be eligible for appointment to the Appeals Panel; and
- (2) three Members be drawn as required, to constitute an Appeals Panel.

6. APPOINTMENT OF LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE

RESOLVED that:

- (1) all Members of the General Purposes and Licensing Committee be eligible for appointment to the Licensing Appeals Sub-Committee; and
- (2) three Members be drawn as required, to constitute a Licensing Sub-Committee.

Chairman